BIM

Building Information Modeling

In the construction industry, BIM is synonymous with the global trend of digitalization. During this process, all relevant building data is digitally modeled, combined, and recorded. The building is also geometrically visualized as a virtual model. With its transparent cooperative way of working, BIM is now a decisive factor in setting the bar for the cost-effective development, planning, realization, and operation of innovative buildings.

Benefits for builders

We regard BIM as a continuation of our methodical approach to benefiting the customer. This is because BIM constitutes the point of contact for production and factory planning within Industry 4.0.

Early combination of specialized models facilitates digital planning coordination with the specialist engineers and executors involved in the project. Conflicts or technical necessities are recognized and addressed early on. Studies have shown that the optimal coordination of processes and work procedures during the course of planning and construction can unlock an optimization potential of 85 percent. If structured meaningfully and provided with digital support, construction projects can receive a huge boost in relation to time, costs, and quality.

BIM offers 3D models for optimal spatial illustration of the buildings and clear orientation for the builders as early as the planning stage.

Energy efficiency becomes dynamic with BIM: The BIM process-oriented procedure helps do more than just orient the project on the average energy standards – it also helps to organize it economically, sustainably, and innovatively.

 

Open BIM

Collaboration is the order of the day. Vollack therefore relies extensively on Open BIM. Data and information is exchanged on an open collaboration platform. Involved planners can upload their specialized model to the coordination model. Forming the foundation for this exchange is a data exchange format that can be used across software and countries, the industry foundation classes (IFC).

Where in the past the same building would have been modeled several times, with changes requiring time-consuming updates, BIM makes it possible to digitally evaluate, coordinate, and adapt the parameters quickly. Such an early assessment creates a design that is of high quality both architecturally and in regards to energy efficiency. This is the kind of thing BIM entails when, for example, the energy-intensive need for cooling in office buildings must be reconciled with an architecturally demanding facade design. Building technology and automation can thus be reduced in a user-oriented way.

Admission ticket to BIM World

At the Institute for Scientific Continuing Education at the University of Applied Sciences in Karlsruhe, a certificate center has been established to teach people already working in a specialized field or leadership position about BIM. The continuing education program combines scientific quality with practical construction applications. This course is carried out in cooperation with the professors of the College of Architecture and Construction with experts from the field of construction. Vollack, as a specialist for methodical building concepts and innovative working environments, and ALLPLAN, which offers software solutions for BIM, are cooperation partners from the field and the founders of the new study program.

BIM

Building Information Modeling

BIM steht in der Baubranche für den weltweiten Trend der Digitalisierung. Dabei werden alle relevanten Gebäudedaten digital modelliert, kombiniert und erfasst. Das Gebäude ist als virtuelles Modell auch geometrisch visualisiert. BIM mit seiner transparent-kooperativen Arbeitsweise setzt nun den entscheidenden Stellhebel an für die wirtschaftlich-effiziente Entwicklung, Planung, Realisierung und den Betrieb von zukunftssicheren Gebäuden.

Nutzen für Bauherren

Wir betrachten BIM als konsequente Fortsetzung unseres methodischen Vorgehens zum Nutzen des Kunden. Denn BIM formt die Schnittstelle zur Produktions- und Fabrikplanung innerhalb der Industrie 4.0.

Durch eine frühzeitige Kombination von Fachmodellen wird eine digitale Planungskoordination mit den am Projekt beteiligten Fachingenieuren und Ausführenden herbeigeführt. Kollisionen oder technische Zwänge werden frühzeitig erkannt und behoben. Studien belegen, dass die optimale Koordination von Prozessen und Arbeitsabläufen im Planungs- und Bauverlauf ein Optimierungspotenzial in Höhe von 85 Prozent eröffnet. Sinnvoll strukturiert und digital gestützt können Bauprojekte einen enormen Schub erleben im Hinblick auf Zeit, Kosten und Qualität.

3D-Modelle zur optimierten räumlichen Darstellung von Gebäuden und zur klaren Orientierung für Bauherren schon in der Planung sind durch BIM gegeben.

Energieeffizienz wird mit BIM dynamisiert: Das BIM-prozessorientierte Vorgehen unterstützt dabei, sich nicht einfach nur am energetischen Mindeststandard zu orientieren, sondern diesen darüber hinaus wirtschaftlich, nachhaltig und zukunftssicher zu gestalten.

 

Open BIM

Kollaboration ist das Gebot der Stunde. Vollack setzt deshalb konsequent auf Open BIM. Der Daten- und Informationsaustausch erfolgt auf einer offenen Kollaborationsplattform. Beteiligte Planer laden ihr Fachmodell im Koordinationsmodell hoch. Die Grundlage bildet ein software- und länderübergreifendes Datenaustauschformat, die Industry Foundation Classes (IFC).

Wo in der Vergangenheit das gleiche Gebäude mehrfach modelliert und bei Änderungen aufwendig nachgeführt werden musste, erlaubt BIM, dass die Parameter zeitnah digital ausgewertet, abgeglichen und angepasst werden. Die frühzeitige Einschätzung sorgt für einen Entwurf, der zugleich von hoher architektonischer und energetischer Qualität ist. So wirkt sich BIM z.B. aus, wenn der energieintensive Kühlbedarf bei Bürogebäuden in Einklang gebracht wird mit einer architektonisch anspruchsvollen Fassadengestaltung. Die Gebäudetechnik und –automation kann somit nutzerorientiert reduziert werden.

 

Eintrittskarte in die BIM-Welt

Am Institut für Wissenschaftliche Weiterbildung der Hochschule Karlsruhe wurde ein Zertifikatsstudium zum Thema BIM für im Beruf befindliche Fach- und Führungskräfte eingerichtet. Die Weiterbildung verbindet wissenschaftliche Qualität mit der baupraktischen Anwendung. Durchgeführt wird dieser Kurs in Form einer Kooperation von Professoren der Fakultät Architektur und Bauwesen mit Experten aus der Baupraxis. Vollack als Spezialist für methodische Gebäudekonzeption und zukunftsweisende Arbeitswelten und ALLPLAN, die Softwarelösungen für BIM anbieten, sind die Kooperationspartner aus der beruflichen Praxis und Initiatoren des neuen Studiengangs.